

Dr. Smir V Kamat, Secretary, Deptt. of Defence Research & Development (R&D) Chairman, Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India

A distinguished scientist and a dynamic leader, Dr. Samir V. Kamat, is the Secretary of Department of Defence Research and Development (R&D) and Chairman, Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

Dr. Kamat has been leading cutting-edge research and development on materials for various defence applications for the past three decades, and has contributed immensely towards the development of Rare Earth Permanent Magnet Technology in DMRL. He had also played a key role in initiation of important MoUs between DMRL, BARC, IREL, and ARCI for the launch of the Mineral-to-Magnet Programme to make India self-reliant in the REPM technology. Dr. Kamat has provided leadership and direction to several critical materials programmes in DRDO, and has also spearheaded the development of naval systems such as advanced light weight torpedo, anti-torpedo decoy systems, autonomous underwater vehicles, advanced hull mounted and towed array sonars for ships and fuel cells-based air independent propulsion systems for submarines.

Dr. Kamat obtained his B Tech. (Hons) in Metallurgical Engineering from IIT-Kharagpur and PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from Ohio State University. He joined DRDO at Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, in 1989 and since then, over the last 25 years, he has made significant contributions in the area of microstructure mechanical property correlations in advanced materials.

He has guided four PhD theses and has more than 180 peer-reviewed journal publications as well as 35 Technical Reports to his credit. For his outstanding contribution and exemplary accomplishments, Dr Kamat has been conferred with numerous Awards including the Indranil Medal by the Mining, Geological and Metallurgical Institute of India, DRDO Young Scientist Award, Binani Gold Medal of the Indian Institute of Metals, Metallurgist of the Year Award by the Ministry of Steel, Govt. of India, the National Science Day Oration Silicon Medal, the DRDO Scientist of the Year Award and IIT Kharagpur Distinguished Alumni Award.